And the garden

When modern architecture goes outside

My Mulish Conviction

3 Comments

No one *really* means it when they agree with my assertion that the garden is the one thing that is absolutely going to make this house.

People who merely pay lip service to the idea:

  1. Architects
  2. Quantity Surveyors
  3. Structural Engineers
  4. Electrical and Mechanical Engineering Consultants
  5. Builders
  6. Husbands

 

It’s all “Yes, of course, incredibly important” until it is discovered that the invert level of the sewage mains to which we need to link is at a higher level than expected, necessitating a pump – at some additional £5k –  at the end of our run into the mains sewer*.  Then, to a man, the unspoken consensus from all of the above is that the logical place from which this £5k shall be appropriated is the landscaping budget.

So it’s just me, with my increasingly ratty and stubborn conviction that spending 1/20th of the house budget on the immediate setting for the house will lift our already glorious proposed new house design into new realms of loveliness.

And now there’s this blog – so now there’s you, too.

*In fairness, I don’t imagine there are too many people who take the line: “Ah no let’s not bother with that.  What’s the worst that could happen?”

3 thoughts on “My Mulish Conviction

  1. We are off mains-drains, but still have the “low foul-water, have to pump” issue, so I solved it with a digester giving us the ability to pump its cleaned outfall as garden irrigation water. I don’t know if this would be an option where mains-drains are available? but for us it means that we are not paying a proportion of our potable water bill for main-drains sewerage rates which, as a gardener, carries the penalty that any mains water used for irrigation proportionately increases the sewerage rates. We can chuck as much water on the garden as we like – and can afford – although obviously we prefer to use the rainwater that we can store first, then what we can “produce”!, and finally any additional that we choose to pay for.

    • I think that’s something to consider in the future. At the moment, our water consumption is not metered. And honestly? I can’t quite face the exploration, planning, costing and general learning curve for something that isn’t yet a problem – I’ll probably wait until I can see the whites of its eyes…

  2. Our water is metered, but the cost is peanuts compared to installing rain-water-harvesting, so I sympathise with you. Strikes me as Nuts that Water Board does not subsidise gardeners installing rain water harvesting (rather than a couple of water butts) as it would save them building reservoir capacity etc, the part I most dislike is chucking mains water, all cleaned up nicely and fit for drinking, onto the ground; a grey-water supply would do me fine, but of course (unlike Mediterranean countries, where water is more scarce) we haven’t got the infrastructure for that. Payback for my tanks will probably take a century! only side-benefit is that I don’t have to worry about hose-pipe-bans in a drought year, along with the fact that our mains water is “hard” so not suitable for some of my plants anyway.

Leave a Reply

